And So It Begins

And so it begins.Image

It’s been a while since I last posted. That’s mostly because my life took a very interesting turn recently. Through rather serendipitous circumstances, I met a of couple of couch surfers who are long term, low cost travelers a few weeks ago, and they introduced me to WWOOFing (I’ll explain in another post to come shortly). We got to talk of travel, and I heard all of these incredible stories, and tips, and ideas for how to live the impossible dream that they were living themselves. After a couple of hours of good times, and seeing my interest, I was urged by one to say “Fuck it!” and get going immediately to see the world. I told him that I’d think about it, and we went our separate ways. While I consider myself to be spontaneous, and flexibility is one of greatest strengths (born out of necessity to compensate for several weaknesses) I wasn’t quite ready to drop the ‘ol F-bomb and dive head first in to the unknown.

Apparently life wasn’t having any of my shit, and decided to say “Fuck it!” for me.

Put simply, I lost my job just over a week ago. The company executives took the time to sit me down and explain the situation, and honestly, I can’t fault them for it. I was always temporary, with plans to leave Texas for California this summer as I begin pursuing my education, and my dream of Berkeley’s Haas school of business. After several projects were delayed, layoffs became unavoidable. We were lucky to have a crack team where I worked, and so any layoffs presented a real loss of talent. The difference between myself and the guy who still has a job is that I wasn’t a long termer, and it would be a crime to lay off a company man for someone who is going to be leaving shortly. As I said, I can’t fault them. I’d be lying if I said it didn’t sting though.

I’m a firm believer that every challenge presents an opportunity, and that a great challenge presents an even greater opportunity. It didn’t take much brainpower to see the potential here. I began doing tons of research, reading blogs, talking to people with experience, and then researching some more. My credit score is now better than it’s ever been, I have plane tickets to both Hawaii and Barcelona, the bare minimum essentials in gear, and three months of travel ahead of me. The future is looking bright!

If yall have any inspiration to share, any comments on making it through rough times, or tips of backpacking, I’d love to hear them!

-NSTB

4 thoughts on “And So It Begins

  1. Number 9

    oh nosleeptillberkeley I loved this post! I totally relate to this: “While I consider myself to be spontaneous, and flexibility is one of greatest strengths (born out of necessity to compensate for several weaknesses) I wasn’t quite ready to drop the ‘ol F-bomb and dive head first in to the unknown.” I definitely consider myself spontaneous and flexible and my motto is, “I’ll figure it out!.” But then my family and i have wanted to move to the beach for YEARS and we have never just DONE IT. we are actively looking for jobs and houses now (but we’ve done this before) so maybe maybe this time I can drop the ol F-bomb with you and just head first into the unknown—it’ll be at the beach so how bad could it be?? lol.

    Reply
    1. nosleeptillberkeley Post author

      I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it! I hope your search goes well, and persistence pays off. I’ll be keeping this blog regularly updated as I travel, and hopefully some of my successes and mistakes (alternative learning experiences!) can help you in pursuit of your goal.

      Reply
  2. Jess

    Ahhh I’m so excited for you I could give you a bear hug! Losing your job was most def the Universe telling you to go do your thing. As most of us learn along the way with backpacking… follow your instincts on everything from where to stay to whom to speak to and most of all… pack light =) I can’t wait to hear about your travels.. although everyday life is pretty awesome, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

